Faculty and Staff

Each of your instructors is an accomplished professional in his/her field. We have a permanent core of faculty which is augmented by part time instructors. We are here to inspire and direct your education. Take advantage of our expertise and excitement about our own learning. A faculty member will be assigned as your advisor, but you may change advisors by having a new advisor within the department notify the Administrative Coordinator and noting it on the jacket of your advisee folder. Faculty members are available to you during regularly scheduled office hours, often before and after class, and by appointment. It is extremely important that you initiate contact with your advisor early in your first semester here and on a regular basis thereafter. In some cases, specific faculty members are able to offer specialized advising for General Education or Major Requirements. Their expertise will be noted in their biographical statements. In all cases, the Art Studio or Art History coordinators should be consulted for questions of interpretation or substitution of course work from other institutions. The Department Chair is responsible for final approval of all substitutions and graduation requirement petitions for the major.

Department Chair - Professor Gregory Roberts
Art 104 - (707) 664-3042

Administrative Analyst – Cindy Menghini
Art 128 – (707)-664-3049

Fulltime Faculty/Advisors
Name Position Room Phone
Shannon Benine Photography & Media Arts    112 benine@sonoma.edu
Nathan Haenlein Printmaking & Drawing 132 Nathan.Haenlein@sonoma.edu
Kurt Kemp Printmaking & Drawing 134 kempk@sonoma.edu
Clea FelienĀ  Painting & Drawing 133 clea_felien@yahoo.com
Gregory Roberts (on leave) Ceramics   Roberts@sonoma.edu
Jennifer Roberson (on Sabbatical F18) Art History   robejenn@sonoma.edu
Michael Schwager Art History & Gallery Director 106 schwager@sonoma.edu
Jennifer Shaw Art History 104 shaw@sonoma.edu
Letha   Ch’ien Art History 105 chienl@sonoma.edu
       
Adjunct Faculty
Name Position Room email
Emily Adams Art Studio Art 122 emilydadams@gmail.com
Jeremiah Barber Art Studio Art 124 buckaroni@gmail.com
Jennifer Bethke Art History Art 110 bethke@sonoma.edu
Jenny Braun Art Studio Art 122 harpj@sonoma.edu
Anne-Louise (Amy) Dierkes Art History Art 110 dierkes@sonoma.edu
Marshall Elliot Art Studio Art 124 marshallmelliott@gmail.com
Annee Knight-Booker Art Studio Art 110 abookerknight@gmail.com
Joseph Kowalczyk Art Studio Art 124 studiojoko@gmail.com
Kate Oltmann   Art Studio Art 122 klogue@alumni.risd.edu
John Sappington Art Studio Art 110 john@basearts.com
Melissa (Billie) Stultz Art Studio Art 111 stultz@sonoma.edu
Administration / Staff
Name Position Room email
Shannon Edwards Instructional Technician III Art 123 edwardsh@sonoma.edu
Aimee Graham Instrucional Technician III Art 123 grahama@sonoma.edu,
Cindy Menghini Administrative Analyst Art 128 menghini@sonoma.edu
Claudia Molloy
Gallery Exhibition Assistant
Art 107 molloy@sonoma.edu
Carla Stone University Art Gallery Coordinator Art 101 A carla.stone@sonoma.edu 
Billie Stultz Digital Technician Art 111 Stultz@sonoma.edu
Faculty Emeritus
Name Position Contact
Stephen Galloway Professor Emeritus- Art Studio - Photography http://www.stephengalloway.com/
William Guynn Professor Emeritus of Art (Cinema) wsguynn@gmail.com
Susan Moulton Professor Emerita of Art History  
Jann Nunn    
Mark Perlman Professor Emeritus- Art Studio Painting