Anthropological Studies Center logo

Sonoma State University logo

Sponsorship Opportunities

Scholarships & Grants

Since 1993, ASC has funded a scholarship and a research grant to help people who are pursuing education or scholarly research in the field of Cultural Resources Management. Support for these awards comes mostly from payroll deductions from ASC staff and the Meyer Family Fund, established by retired SSU development director Jim Meyer.

Donations to the ASC Scholarship or the Fredrickson Research Grant will be gratefully received!

ASC Scholarship in Cultural Resources Management

The ASC Scholarship is awarded annually to a first-year graduate student in the CRM Master’s program, promotes interest in CRM as an academic discipline and a career choice. The scholarship is based on academic ability and is administered through the University’s Scholarship office.

Awards vary from $500 to $1500/year, depending on available funds.

David A. Fredrickson Research Grant in Cultural Resources Management

These grants assist researchers affiliated with the ASC—permanent or student staff, interns, or volunteers—by granting money to complete specific aspects of significant, ongoing CRM research. The award honors the late David A. Fredrickson, Professor Emeritus in Anthropology and ASC’s founding Director from 1974 to 1992. Dave was a major figure in California prehistoric archaeology and a national leader in the development of CRM as a profession.

Uses of the grant have included: the costs involved in creating outreach materials, such as lesson plans or museum displays; fees for archaeological specialist studies or production of technical graphics; and expenses necessary to publish important research. Research based on ASC collections is encouraged. Research may involve architectural history, field or laboratory research in prehistoric or historical archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, and oral history—or may be studies of actual methods, standards, and conduct of CRM.

One or more $500 – $1,500 research grants are awarded annually, depending on available funds.

Give Online