March 29, 2016

Chamber Program Features Russian Quintets for Piano and Strings

Violinist Philip Santos and violist Marcel Gemperli join the Navarro Trio this Sunday in two masterpieces of Russian chamber music – the piano quintets of Anton Arensky and Sergei Taneyev. The April 3 concert at 2 pm in Sonoma State’s Schroeder Hall includes pianist Marilyn Thompson and cellist Jill Brindel – founding members of Navarro Trio ­– and violinist Victor Romasevich, a native of Belarus. Tickets are $8 and free to SSU students.

Anton Arensky (1861-1906), a product of the St. Petersburg Conservatory under Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, was a prolific composer of chamber works in the late Romantic style. His Piano Quintet has only recently become available in print. Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915 – also spelled Taneiev, Tanaiev, Taneieff, Taneyeff, etc. due to the difficulty of transliterating the Cyrillic alphabet), is sometimes called the “Russian Brahms.” Sent at age 10 to the newly opened Moscow Conservatory as a pupil of P.I. Tchaikovsky, Taneyev went on to lead the next generation of Russian composers.

Schroeder Hall is located at Sonoma State’s Green Music Center, two miles east of Highway 101 on Rohnert Park Expressway, near the intersection with Petaluma Hill Road. Parking is available in lots L, M, N and O.

“In Russian concert halls, one always finds a bust of Taneyev alongside those of Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms and Tchaikovsky.” —Edition Silvertrust


ANTON ARENSKY – Piano Quintet in D Major, Op.51
SERGEI TANEYEV – Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 30     



Victor Romasevich, violin
Marilyn Thompson, piano
Jill Brindel, cello














Guest Artists

Philip Santos performs frequently with many established groups in the Bay Area including the San Francisco Symphony's Chamber Music Series entitled Chamber Music Sundaes, the Sierra Chamber Society, Music on the Hill, Old First Church Concerts, and Composers, Inc. Mr. Santos is concertmaster of the Fremont Symphony, assistant concertmaster of Marin Symphony and principal second violin of California Symphony. He has also played with the Chicago Symphony and has been a member of the San Francisco Symphony, Oakland East Bay Symphony, and Berkeley Symphony. Mr. Santos is on the faculty of the University of California's Young Musicians Program and California State University East Bay. He has an active studio where he teaches private students throughout the San Francisco Bay Area.

Marcel Gemperli began studying the viola at the age of eight in his native New York State and continued his musical education while earning his B.A. at Harvard University. He spent two years continuing his viola studies in Germany and Switzerland before settling in the Bay Area. Marcel currently serves as Principal Viola of the California Symphony, and performs frequently with many orchestras including the San Francisco Symphony, the San Francisco Ballet and Opera Orchestras, the San Francisco and New Century Chamber Orchestras, as well as the orchestras of Marin, Modesto, Santa Rosa and Silicon Valley.  Marcel performs frequently in touring Broadway productions and also records numerous film and television soundtracks at the Skywalker Sound Studio.  He has performed at the Telluride Chamber Music Festival, the Mendocino Music Festival, and as part of the Midsummer Mozart Festival Orchestra.


Media Contact:

Ruth E. Wilson
Lecturer in Horn
Music Department Publicity
Sonoma State University
1801 East Cotati Avenue
Rohnert Park, CA 94928


University Box Office 707-664-4246