Undergraduate Internships

The Political Science department offers several programs through which students may gain practical experience while earning academic credit. A political science internship involves working in the office of a public official, nonprofit or other organization, or election campaign. Prior interns have served in responsible positions with state assembly members, state senators, and members of Congress, and in a number of campaigns for local, state, and national office. The comparable program in public administration places students in positions, often paid, with local government offices and agencies where they may be involved with city planning and zoning issues, public relations efforts, special research topics, or budget preparation, to mention several possibilities. In addition, the department regularly sends selected students to the state capitol to participate in the Sacramento Semester Program where they work with members of the Legislature, officers of the executive branch, or lobbyists to gain a fuller understanding of the political process firsthand.

 

Potential Placements Include:

Council on Aging [meals on wheels]: http://www.councilonaging.com/meals-on-wheels/

California Homemaker’s Association http://www.tommysholidaycamp.com/2018/02/16/california-homemakers-association-erica-diamond-john-gaines/#  (radio interview with directors)

Coffey Strong: https://coffeystrong.com/

Metta Center for Nonviolence: https://mettacenter.org/

Verity: http://www.ourverity.org/

Social Advocates for Youth: https://www.saysc.org/

Redwood Empire Food Bank: https://refb.org/

Habitat for Humanity : https://www.habitat.org/

United Nations Association of Sonoma County: https://www.facebook.com/sonomacountyuna/ (Facebook page)

North Bay Labor Council/SEIU: https://ca.aflcio.org/nblc/

Sonoma County Parks Department: https://parks.sonomacounty.ca.gov/

Superior Court of California County of Sonoma: http://sonoma.courts.ca.gov/

Sonoma County Economic Development Board: http://sonomaedb.org/

Sonoma County Conservation Action: http://www.conservationaction.org/

North Bay Organizing Project : http://northbayop.org/

Legal Aid of Sonoma County : https://legalaidsc.org/

Graton Day Labor Center: https://www.gratondaylabor.org/

Sonoma County Chapter ACLU : https://www.aclunc.org/about/chapters/sonoma-county-chapter

League of Women Voters: http://www.lwvsonoma.org/

National Organization for Women : https://now.org/chapter/sonoma-county-now/

Leadership Institute for Ecology and the Economy https://www.mightycause.com/organization/Leadership-Institute-For-Ecology-And-The-Economy

Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA): https://sonomacasa.org/

California Food Policy Advocates : https://cfpa.net/

Restorative Resources : https://www.restorativeresources.org/

Human Rights Commission of Sonoma County: https://sonomacounty.ca.gov/Commission-on-Human-Rights/

Santa Rosa City Council: https://www.srcity.org/1322/City-Council

Healdsburg City Council: http://www.ci.healdsburg.ca.us/179/City-Council

Cotati City Council: http://www.cotaticity.org/

Windsor City Council: https://www.townofwindsor.com/58/Town-Council

Petaluma City Council: http://cityofpetaluma.net/cclerk/council.html

Rohnert Park City Council: http://www.ci.rohnert-park.ca.us/city_hall/city_council

KCRB Public Media: https://norcalpublicmedia.org/

Healdsburg Tribune : http://www.sonomawest.com/the_healdsburg_tribune/

Sonoma Independent : https://www.sonomaindependent.org/

Solar Sonoma County: http://www.solarsonomacounty.org/

Russian Riverkeeper : https://russianriverkeeper.org/

Sustainable North Bay : https://sustainablenorthbay.org/

Sonoma Land Trust: https://sonomalandtrust.org/outings/index.html

Meulrath Public Affairs: http://www.muelrathpublicaffairs.com/

The Living Room : http://www.thelivingroomsc.org/

Chop Teen’s Club: https://www.chopsteenclub.org/

Soroptomist International: http://www.sisantarosa.org/

Sonoma County LGBTQI Pride: https://www.sonomacountypride.org/

Plus, there are opportunities available with many local and regional political campaigns and elected from school board to county supervisor to state senate. See Professor Boaz for more information.

We are also open to your proposal for an internship with an organization or entity not listed here, as long as it is relevant to our work in the political science department.

Finally, special arrangements also may be made for some students to serve as staff to members of Congress in Washington, D.C., for a semester.
    2019 Spring Congressional Internship in Washington D.C. with Congressman Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03)

Cal State Washington DC Internship Program

·       General information page

CSU Sacramento Semester Internship Program

·       General information page

For more information regarding undergraduate internships or if you have any questions, please contact our internship coordinator, Dr. Cynthia Boaz.