Emergency Operations Center

Emergency Info Hotline



The Emergency Operations Center (EOC) is a facility for centralized direction and control of the emergency organization and the campus community. During a declared emergency, the EOC will be activated and staffed to the extent required.

An EOC provides a central location of authority and information, and allows for face-to-face coordination among personnel who must make emergency decisions. The following functions may be performed in the University EOC:

  • Managing and coordinating emergency operations
  • Receiving and disseminating emergency information
  • Developing emergency policies and procedures
  • Collecting intelligence from and disseminating information to the various EOC representatives, and, as appropriate, to County, City, special district and State agencies, military, and federal agencies.
  • Preparing intelligence/information summaries, situation reports, operational reports, and other reports as required.
  • Maintaining general and specific maps, information display boards, and other data pertaining to emergency operations.
  • Continuing analysis and evaluation of all data pertaining to emergency operations
  • Directing, controlling and coordinating, within established policy, the operational and logistical support of Op Area resources committed to the emergency.
  • Maintaining contact and coordination with other local government EOCs, the County Operational Area EOC and the Coastal Region REOC.
  • Providing emergency information and instructions to the public, making official releases to the news media and the scheduling of press conferences as necessary.

Organizational Structure

The EOC follows the organizational structure prescribed by the National Incident Management System (NIMS) and the Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS). Responsiblities are separated by functions and into four sections: Operations, Planning and Intelligence, Logistics, and Finance. Units are placed within those four sections to perform specified tasks.

EOC Membership

Employees from all divisions are appointed to positions within the EOC based upon thier skillset, subject matter expertise, interest, and availability. Members of the EOC are required to complete specialized training, meet with EOC members regularly, and perform duties prior to emergencies to increase the University's readiness.

In addition to EOC members, additional employees may volunteer to serve in the EOC as part of the Support Corps. The Support Corps perform duties in the EOC in support of the membership or serve in the call center supporting communications to the campus community.

For more information on the responsiblities of each of the roles, please refer to the Emergency Operations Plan.

Any employee who is interested in serving on the EOC should contact Missy Brunetta.

Current Membership (effective December 2018):

Policy Group
Position Incumbent
President Judy K. Sakaki
Provost/Executive Vice President Lisa Vollendorf
Vice President, Student Affairs Wm. Gregory Sawyer
Vice President, Advancement Gordon McDougall
Vice President, Administration & Finance Joyce Lopes
Executive Director, Green Music Center Jacob Yarrow
Associate Vice President, Chief of Staff Vacant


EOC Management
Function/Unit Primary Appointee Alternate Appointee Alternate Appointee
EOC Director Joyce Lopes Missy Brunetta Tyson Hill
Safety Officer Renee Sendander Craig Dawson Maureen Buckley
Public Information Officer/Crisis Communications Paul Gullixson Katie Beermann -
Legal Counsel Nada Moeiny - -


Operations Section
Function/Unit Primary Appointee Alternate Appointee Alternate Appointee
Section Chief Dana Twedell Caroline Neyman Megan Varnadore
Facilities Operations Unit Nicole Hendry Mark Utarid Haywood Brown
Health & Campus Safety Stacy Heldman-Holguin Tracey Eaton Vacant
Evacuation/Residential Operations Stacey Murray Erik Dickson Vacant
Law Enforcement David Dougherty Leroy Swicegood -
Fire Services CalFire/RAFD - -


Planning & Intelligence Section
Function/Unit Primary Appointee Alternate Appointee Alternate Appointee
Section Chief Mike Ogg Lisa Vollendorf Steve Karp
Academic Resources Karen Moranski Deborah Roberts Lynn Stauffer
Carlos Ayala
Situation Analysis Rob Eyler Hayley Ross Turner Masland
Karen Thompson
Damage Assessment Vacant Christopher Dinno Vicki Irey
Advance Planning Elias Lopez Hollis Robbins Karen Schneider


Logistics Section
Function/Unit Primary Appointee Alternate Appointee Alternate Appointee
Section Chief Neil Markley Ian Hannah Jessica Way
Food Service Dan O'Brien Meredith Spires Vacant
Care & Shelter Kindra Kautz Anna Reynolds-Smith Elizabeth Chelini
Resource Management Jenna Hennessey Natalie Williams-Munger Tai Russotti
Personnel & Volunteer Megan Christensen Elizabeth O'Brien Erin Rock
Technology & Communications Lee Krichmar Amanda McGowan Joey Montalto


Finance Section
Function/Unit Primary Appointee Alternate Appointee Alternate Appointee
Section Chief David Crozier Amanda Visser Laura Lupei
Compensation/Time Heather Cain Melanie Powers -
Supply/Procurement Jenifer Barnett Joy Sun Carrie Schmidt
Documentation Kendall Newman Katie Robinson Susan Guitierrez
Compliance/Claims Carrie Ann Colton Erin Taylor Trisha Ramos
Cost Natalie Sanchez Brian Orr Nikki Anderson