A bit about me...

Jeffrey T. Reeder


I live with my wife and son at 38°26'55" North, 122°42'17" West, in a small city (or big town?) in Sonoma County, California.

If it's not raining, my 27 mile (round trip) commute is one of the high points of my day. Why - you ask - do I enjoy my commute? Because I commute by bicycle! It's usually a great ride - mostly flat, free fresh air, exercise, redwoods, eucalyptus, oaks, melon patches, vineyards, fields, turkeys, hawks, red-wing blackbirds...

What else? I collect pictures of signs that I find funny, strange, bizarre, or just plain odd. I also enjoy making things out of wood.


Some trivia?


used to run long distances (two half-marathons by age 10)

used to work on a farm (several, actually; all in the Great Plains). Drove tractors, built miles of fences, harvested wheat, barley, and met quite a number of rattlesnakes.

was a Rotary International exchange student to Brazil.

was on the high school football team. I was a defensive tackle but mostly sat on the bench.

have studied at four different universities (1, 2, 3, 4); had four different majors as an undergrad.

have lived on four different continents (1, 2, 3, 4), in seven U.S. states (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7), in seven countries (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7), and have attended 18 different schools.

have earned a US Navy pistol marksmanship medal.

rode a bicycle from Coahuila, Mexico to Manitoba, Canada (that's an even longer story, but you can click here to read ALL about it...!).

broke my thumb within an hour of trying to learn to ski, took a 20-year break from it and now have started again.

have lived in a R E A L L Y big city and in a R E A L L Y rural area