Lynn Cominsky named a fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science

CSU Logo

Dr. Lynn Cominsky, chair of the Physics and Astronomy Department, has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). The election of an AAAS fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

Cominsky will receive this award for her work in outreach for X-ray and gamma-ray astronomy and for inspiring her undergraduate students at Sonoma State University. She has been on the faculty of the department since 1986 and the chair since 2004.

Cominsky is an astrophysicist in addition to the education and public outreach lead for NASA’s Swift gamma-ray burst mission, the Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope, the Nuclear Spectroscopic Telescope Array (NuSTAR) focusing hard x-ray mission, and the U.S. portion of the European Space Agency's XMM-Newton mission.

She is also a scientific co-investigator on Swift, Fermi and NuSTAR, and serves as the press officer for Swift and Fermi. In these positions, she often interprets astronomical discoveries for the public. Cominsky’s NASA-funded education and public outreach group uses the excitement of high-energy space science to train teachers, inspire and engage students, and increase the scientific literacy of the general public.

The AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes 261 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three fellows who are current AAAS members or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

For more information about the AAAS, visit