Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Sonoma State University has transitioned to remote instruction for Spring 2021. Employees continue to work remotely in almost all departments. Email is the best way to communicate with our faculty and staff. Please see the SSU COVID-19 site for more information.

Award Nominees FY 2019-2020

It is our pleasure to honor these nominees, as well as all of our faculty and staff who make enormous contributions to the University Mission and the mission of higher education:

Excellence in Research, Scholarship and/or Creative Activity

  • Michelle Goman, Geography, Environment & Planning
  • Janet Hess, Hutchins School of Liberal Studies
  • Emily Ray, Political Science
  • Talena Sanders, Communication Studies
  • Laura Watt, Geography, Environment & Planning

Excellence in Teaching

  • Margaret Anderson, Hutchins School of Liberal Studies
  • Jeff Baldwin, Geography, Environment, and Planning
  • Cynthia Boaz, Political Science
  • Gurman Gill, Computer Science
  • Thomas Targett, Physics and Astronomy

Outstanding Service

  • Stacy Heldman-Holguin, Office of the VP, Student Affairs
  • Claudia Luke, Office of the Dean, School of Science & Technology
  • Elaine Newman, Mathematics
  • Anna Reynolds-Smith, Office of the VP, Student Affairs
  • Eric Seder, Operations & Engineering

Staff Excellence

  • Rachel Carbone, Office of the VP, Student Affairs
  • Cookie Garrett, Residential Ed & Campus Housing
  • Stephanie Graham, Disability Services for Students
  • Kristi Hellman, Nursing
  • Maricela Ibarra Aceves, Credential Office
  • Elisabeth Kettmann, Biology
  • Christine Pinella, SBE, Graduate & Executive Programs 
  • Kim Purdy, Academic Programs
  • Saul Razo Aguilar, Culinary Services
  • Eric Seder, Operations and Engineering
  • Aurore Simonnet, Education and Public Outreach 
  • Stephanie Toves, Student Records

Strategic Plan Core Values

  • Tramaine Austin-Dillon, Residential Ed & Campus Housing
  • Brent Boyer, Disability Services for Students
  • Suzanne DeCoursey, Center for Environmental Inquiry
  • Vanessa Poblano, Faculty Affairs
  • Merith Weisman, Center for Community Engagement

Team Impact

  • Black Faculty/Staff Association Executive Board
  • Career Center Team
  • Career Center & EA Marketing Department
  • Co-Medical Directors
  • Facilities - Storm Winter Mitigation
  • General Education Revision Subcommittee (GERS)
  • Office of the President Administrative Support
  • Procurement/Purchasing
  • School of Science & Tech Continuous Improvement Process
  • University Culinary Services Staff


…thanks to everyone who took time to submit a nomination!