Seeing an Advisor

Sociology Major Advisors for Fall 2017

Advising is done by appointment during posted office hours. Sign up for an appointment in the Sociology Department office (2084 Stevenson).  Appointments are 10 minutes long, but you may sign up for more than one during non-peak times of the semester. Drop-ins are also welcome on a space available basis. Office staff do not make appointments for faculty.

Sociology major advisors are full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty. Part-time lecturer faculty do not advise.

Advisor office hours start on the first day of class and end on the last day of class each semester. Faculty are not available for advising during the summer or winter intersessions.

Professor
Email
Phone*
Office Location
Office Hours
James Dean james.dean@sonoma.edu 664-2599 Stevenson 2085 Mondays 4-5pm
Wednesdays 12-1pm
Brian Gillespie
Veterans Advisor
brian.gillespie@sonoma.edu 664-2583 Stevenson 2084-N Mondays 12-2pm
Wednesdays 7-8am
Elaine Leeder elaine.leeder@sonoma.edu 664-2120 Stevenson 2087 Mon/Wed 2:00-3:30pm
Melinda Milligan melinda.milligan@sonoma.edu 664-2254 Stevenson 2084-F Wednesdays 10-1pm
Debora Paterniti
Study Away Advisor
Social Work & Public Health Advisor
 debora.paterniti@sonoma.edu 664-3033 Stevenson 2084-I Mondays 10:30-12:00pm
Tuesdays 2:00-3:30pm
Cindy Stearns cindy.stearns@sonoma.edu 664-2708 Stevenson 2084-B Tues 12:30-1:30pm & 2:30-3:30
Thursdays 2-3pm

* All Phone Numbers are in the (707) Area Code

Social Science Academic Advisor for Fall 2017

The academic advisor, Vanessa Bascherini, MS, can answer questions about General Education Requirements, the Academic Requirements Report (ARR), the Transfer Credit Report, course registration, and waitlists. The academic advisor cannot answer major specific questions or sign any paperwork. Email: vanessa.bascherini@sonoma.edu.

Office Location
Office Hours

Salazar Hall 1070
Advising Center
707.664.2730

Monday - Friday 10:00-4:00pm
by appointment only